The purpose of the National Excellence in Romance Fiction Award (NERFA) is to recognize and bring attention to the best romance fiction each year. We rely on the experts — romance readers like you — to help us accomplish this important goal.

Judge’s sign-up will open on January 15, 2023!

This year the reading period will be April 10 – May 21, 2023.

Put us on your calendar

CLICK HERE to be a judge!


Contact the contest coordinator at with any questions.


Contest Sponsor

The National Excellence in Romance Fiction Award is sponsored by First Coast Romance Writers (FCRW). FCRW is an independent non-profit organization for both published and unpublished writers. The organization is dedicated to promoting excellence in romantic fiction through monthly meetings and workshops where published and unpublished writers share knowledge about the constantly evolving publishing industry.